Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna 

Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna status

  • Status of Maharatna, Navaratna and Miniratna is given to the Central Public Sector Companies (CPSE) in India.
  • The Department of Public Enterprises under Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises is the nodal department for all the Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs).
  • It makes policies and guidelines for the performance evaluation and improvement of the PSUs/ CPSEs.

Eligibility Criteria


  • Having Navratna status.
  • Listed on Indian stock exchange with minimum prescribed public shareholding under SEBI regulations.
  • Average annual turnover of more than 25,000 crore, during the last 3 years.
  • Average annual net worth of more than 15,000 crore, during the last 3 years.
  • Average annual net profit after tax of more than 5,000 crore, during the last 3 years.
  • Should have significant global presence/international operations.


  • A CPSE which falls under the Miniratna (Category – I and Schedule ‘A’ CPSEs), has obtained rating of ‘very good’ or ‘excellent’ in 3 of the last 5 years.
  • A CPSE which has composite score of 60 or above in the 6 selected performance parameters, namely;
  • Net profit to net worth
  • Earnings per share
  • Profit before interest and taxes to turnover
  • Profit before depreciation, interest and taxes to capital employed
  • Manpower cost to total cost of production/services
  • Inter-Sectoral performance


  • Those CPSEs which fulfill these two criteria are eligible to be considered for grant of Miniratna status.
  • The CPSEs which have made profits in the last 3 years continuously
  • The CPSEs which have positive net worth.
  • As of 2019, there are 10 Maharatnas, 14 Navratnas and 73 Miniratnas.
  • There are nearly 300 CPSEs (central public sector enterprises) in total.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *